Home Slider - EnNEW YORK

Great Bleisure in New York

“New York. Where dreams are made of concrete. Perfect for bleisure and workation – more than ever.
Two journeys, two views, one tenor: there‘s nothing you can‘t do here.“ Kai Böcking, Sylvie Konzack

Kai: I‘ll be back in the Big Apple in September for the first time in years. What has changed? Definitely the prices. New York has become quite expensive for us Germans. The strong dollar against the euro and the global price increases are certainly reasons for this. The desire to travel after the pandemic is another.

New York is packed around the 11th of September. I really wanted to go to the south of Manhattan and booked the Sonder Apartments near The Battery. An American start-up for short and long stays, mainly in the USA and some European cities like London. Before leaving I receive all the important information on the app and and I am soon standing in front of a former office building that now offers about 350 serviced apartments in all sizes. There‘s also a golf simulator, fitness centre, co-working space, pool with roof terrace and beautiful Hudson view, and if you want, you can order a Peloton bike to your apartment. Mine is a large, modern room with white wooden flooring, a large kitchenette and an excellent WIFI in case I still need to work during my bleisure trip after my business meeting in the city. But I want nothing more than New York at the moment – and that’s exactly what I get.

It’s September 11th 2023 when I‘m standing at Ground Zero impressed. The museum, the two water basins as a reminder of the Twin Towers, the mighty new underground complex with the Oculus Center as a wing-wielding bird – everything has been reinvented here, and at the same time I still get to witness old institutions: McSorley‘s Old Ale House, a few blocks from 9/11, is not only the oldest Irish pub in New York, it is also the heart of the city‘s firefighters. To get a beer there on the 9/11 anniversary, let alone finding a seat, is virtually impossible. Fire engines are parked outside, while colleagues from all over the world crowd inside to support their comrades in New York on this day.
And to drink beer, that‘s all there is here. Light or dark, two are always served at once. Sawdust on the floor, cash only. It‘s been like this here since 185 I was allowed in that day and will never forget it.

On the other days, I‘m drawn to Manhattan‘s Chinatown, among other places. Because it‘s especially delicious there. I definitely recommend going to this shop, which doesn‘t look inviting at first glance: Dim Sum Go Go. Here you sit on plastic chairs and eat such incredibly good dim sum that you forget you‘re in New York. However, that doesn’t happen to me when I‘m out and about on my bike – and that‘s great. It feels like you can find hire bikes on every corner in New York. One of the most beautiful routes leads from Battery Park to Central Park, past all the new art buildings and renovated neighbourhoods such as the ­Meatpacking District on the Hudson River. My Town.

Sylvie: New York on the boat and on ice

I was also in the south of Manhattan at the end of October, in a hotel with a skyline view of the 9/11 site. On my first visit to New York over 15 years ago, the 9/11 wound was still gaping wide open. Now everything has been reinvented twice and three times over. And the 9/11 Memorial? It is truly impressive and gripping. What happened here is made unforgettable.

When I arrive in Manhattan, however, I first want to “get away“ from the city: The Staten Island Ferry is within walking distance. A ferry crosses over here every few minutes free of charge. I jump on and soon the most famous borough is at my feet with its skyline around the towering One World Trade Centre. Then I wave over to Miss Liberty, get off the boat on Staten Island – everyone has to do that – and after a brisk walk through the ferry harbour building, take another boat back. Pure bleisure deceleration! I’ll have to do this again at sunset.

Manhattan has added a few skyscrapers in recent years, which is unmistakable from the ferry. I want to climb Summit One Vanderbilt near Central Station and have already booked a fixed date in Germany. When it’s time, the mega tower is covered in clouds and I‘m allowed to come back on another day – a great service. With the new attempt, the sun and the hall of mirrors on the observation deck give it their all. The good old Empire State Building, which used to be the only building everyone climbed – within reach. I‘m at the Summit with friends, and I have a small, expensive cocktail and three hours‘ worth of watching. Afterwards, I spontaneously fulfil a princess dream and go ice skating in front of Rockefeller Center – my town.

Dumbo is also new to me. A few years ago, as tourists, we didn‘t walk to the end of the Brooklyn Bridge. We thought it was far too dangerous. Today, and for a long time now, Asian wedding shoots are being held in the restored Dumbo neighbourhood with the Manhattan skyline in the background and cool shops are lined up next to each other, while ­coworking opportunities flash up in between. But I don‘t want to work during the day and even go offline from my smartphone.

And then suddenly it‘s Halloween in New York. I‘ve never been to the USA during this time and had imagined it to be more dominant. But it‘s not until the end of the working day that more and more blood-soaked shirt costumes with axes as accessories appear on the underground. The parade we want to go to is unfortunately too full and we leave soon. ­Nevertheless, no jostling, polite requests, everyone is ­relaxed. That‘s another thing that makes New York great


Kai Böcking & Sylvie Konzack …

… .are both Team New York and not London, if they had to choose.
In the city of cities, a few weeks of workation would actually be a highlight for them – but unfortunately probably also the costs.

BLEISURE TIPS NEW YORK
Food & Beverages: Dim Sum Go Go (Chinatown), Gallaghers Steakhouse, McSorley’s Old Ale House, Food Market in the ­Central Station
Tower: Summit One Vanderbilt, Empire State Building, One World Observatory, Edge, Top of the Rock (Rockefeller Center)
Parks & Squares: The Battery, High Line Park, Central Park, Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center and always Times Square
Being Mobile: Rent a bike stations, Ferries, Subway

Fotos: © Konzack/privat, Gregorius

>

Home SliderNEW YORK

Great Bleisure in New York

„New York. Wo Träume aus Beton gemacht werden. Perfekt für Bleisure und Workation – mehr denn je.
Zwei Reisen, zwei Blicke, ein Tenor: Es gibt hier nichts, was Du nicht tun kannst.“ Kai Böcking, Sylvie Konzack

Kai: Ich bin im September zum ersten Mal seit Jahren wieder im Big Apple. Was hat sich verändert? Ganz sicher die Preise. New York ist für uns Deutsche ziemlich teuer geworden. Der starke Dollarkurs gegen den Euro und die weltweiten Preissteigerungen sind sicher Gründe. Die Reiselust nach der Pandemie ein weiterer.

New York ist rund um den 11. September rappelvoll. Ich wollte unbedingt in den Süden Manhattans und habe hier die Sonder Apartments nahe von The Battery gebucht. Ein amerikanisches Start-up für kurze und lange Aufenthalte, hauptsächlich in den USA und in einigen europäischen Städten wie London. Vor der Abreise bekomme ich alle wichtigen Infos auf die App gespielt und stehe bald vor einem früheren Bürogebäude, das jetzt rund 300 Serviced Apartments in allen Größen bietet. Dazu Golf Simulator, Fitness Center, Co-Working Space, Pool mit Dachterrasse und Mega-Hudson-Blick, und wer will, bestellt sich ein Peloton Bike in sein Apartment. Meines ist ein großer, moderner Raum, weißer Holzfußboden, große Kitchenette und 1A-WIFI, falls ich während meines Bleisure-Trips im Anschluss an meinen Business-Termin in der Stadt trotzdem arbeiten muss. Aber ich will im Moment nichts als New York – und das kriege ich.

Es ist der 11. September 2023, als ich beeindruckt am Ground Zero stehe. Das Museum, die beiden Wasserbecken als Erinnerung an die Zwillingstürme, der mächtige, neue U-Bahn-Komplex mit dem Oculus Center als Flügel schwingender Vogel – hier hat sich alles neu erfunden, und zugleich erlebe ich noch alte Institutionen: Das McSorley’s Old Ale House, ein paar Blocks von 9/11 entfernt, ist nicht nur der älteste irische Pub New Yorks, es ist auch das Herz der Feuerwehrleute der Stadt. Dort am 9/11-Jahrestag ein Bier zu bekommen geschweige denn einen Platz zu finden, ist quasi unmöglich. Draußen parken die Einsatzwagen der Feuerwehr, drinnen drängeln sich Kollegen aus aller Welt, um ihren Kameraden in New York an diesem Tag beizustehen.
Und um Bier zu trinken, mehr gibt es hier nicht. Hell oder Dunkel, es werden immer zwei auf einmal serviert. Auf dem Boden Sägespäne, nur Barzahlung. So geht das hier seit 1854. Ich durfte an diesem Tag mit rein und werde das nie vergessen.

An den anderen Tagen zieht es mich unter anderem ins Chinatown von Manhattan. Denn hier ist es vor allem auch lecker. Ich empfehle, unbedingt in diesen, auf den ersten Blick nicht einladenden Laden zu gehen: Dim Sum Go Go. Hier hockt man auf Plastikstühlen und isst so unfassbar gute Dim Sums, dass man glatt vergisst, in New York zu sein. Auf dem Fahrrad unterwegs passiert mir das wiederum nicht – und das ist großartig. An gefühlt jeder Ecke finden sich Leihfahrräder in New York. Eine der schönsten Strecken führt vom Battery Park bis zum Central Park, vorbei an all den neuen Kunstbauten und renovierten Vierteln wie dem Meatpacking District am Hudson River. My Town.

Sylvie: New York on the boat and on ice

Ich war Ende Oktober ebenfalls im Süden von Manhattan, in einem Hotel mit Skyline-Aussicht auf das 9/11-Areal. Bei meinem ersten New-York-Besuch vor über 15 Jahren klaffte hier noch die 9/11-Wunde weit auf. Jetzt hat sich alles schon doppelt und dreifach neu erfunden. Und das 9/11 Memorial? Es ist wirklich würdig und packend. Hier wird das Geschehene unvergesslich gemacht.

Als ich in Manhattan ankomme, will ich aber erstmal „Abstand“ von der Stadt gewinnen: Die Staten Island Ferry liegt in Laufweite. Alle paar Minuten schippert hier kostenlos eine Fähre hinüber. Ich springe drauf, und bald liegt mir der wohl berühmteste Stadtteil mit seiner Skyline um das alles überragende One World Trade Center zu Füßen. Dann einmal rüber zu Miss Liberty winken, in Staten Island vom Boot steigen – das muss jeder – und nach einem zügigen Fußmarsch durch das Fährhafengebäude wieder ein anderes Schiff zurücknehmen. Bleisure-Entschleunigung pur! Ich mache das zum Sonnenuntergang noch mal.

Manhattan hat in den letzten Jahren ein paar Wolkenkratzer hinzubekommen, das ist von der Fähre aus unverkennbar. Ich will den Summit One Vanderbilt nahe der Central Station erklimmen und habe schon in Deutschland einen festen Termin gebucht. Als es soweit ist, hängt der Mega-Turm in Wolken, und ich darf an einem anderen Tag wiederkommen – ein toller Service. Beim neuen Anlauf geben die Sonne und das Spiegelkabinett auf der Aussichtsetage alles. Das gute, alte Empire State Building, auf das früher ausschließlich alle gestiegen sind – zum Greifen nah. Ich bin mit Freunden auf dem Summit, und es werden mit einem kleinen, teuren Cocktail drei Stunden Gucken satt. Danach erfülle ich mir spontan einen Prinzessinnentraum und fahre Schlittschuh vor dem Rockefeller Center – my Town.

Für mich neu ist auch Dumbo. Vor einigen Jahren noch gingen wir als Touristen die Brooklyn Bridge nicht bis zu ihrem Ende. Viel zu gefährlich, glaubten wir. Heute und lange schon werden im restaurierten Dumbo-Viertel asiatische Hochzeitsshootings mit der Manhattan-Skyline im Hintergrund gemacht und coole Läden reihen sich aneinander, während dazwischen vielfach Coworking-Möglichkeiten aufblitzen. Aber ich will tagsüber nichts arbeiten und stelle sogar mein Smartphone offline.

Und dann ist plötzlich Halloween in New York. Ich war noch nie in dieser Zeit in den USA und hatte es mir alles beherrschender vorgestellt. Erst ab Feierabend mehren sich in der U-Bahn blutgetränkte Hemdenkostüme mit Accessoires wie einer Axt in der Hand. Die Parade, auf die wir wollen, ist leider zu voll, und wir gehen bald. Trotzdem kein Drängeln, höfliches Bitten, alle entspannt. Auch das macht New York immer wieder großartig.


Kai Böcking & Sylvie Konzack …

… sind beide Team New York und nicht London, wenn sie sich ­entscheiden müssten. In der Stadt der Stadt wären für sie tatsächlich
mal ein paar Workation-Wochen ein Highlight – wahrscheinlich leider aber auch die Kosten

BLEISURE TIPPS NEW YORK
Food & Beverages: Dim Sum Go Go (Chinatown), Gallaghers Steakhouse, McSorley’s Old Ale House, Food Market in the ­Central Station
Tower: Summit One Vanderbilt, Empire State Building, One World Observatory, Edge, Top of the Rock (Rockefeller Center)
Parks & Squares: The Battery, High Line Park, Central Park, Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center and always Times Square
Being Mobile: Rent a bike stations, Ferries, Subway

Fotos: © Konzack, Gregorius

>