Bleisure-Trends
News

Collect Together

„If you travel a lot, you can also get a lot of benefits.
The programmes operate ­differently. I took a close look at the still young GHA Discovery programme in the hotel sector and Flying Blue in the air- line sector.“ Ulf-Gunnar Switalski, founder of upgradeguru.de and the German Bonus Awards

The GHA Discovery programme – a cooperation of smaller hotel groups – has been available for around two years and is convincing me more and more. It comes with some interesting benefits and is ­currently the most generous loyalty programme at Elite Status. Basically, it unites almost 40 brands of more than 800 hotels in 100 countries, including NH Hotels with even 350 hotels in 30 countries alone, here under the name NH Discovery.

For me, the most important advantages are two elements: Discovery Dollars (D$) and the enhanced status level. The former means that instead of earning points, you earn D$ as a new digital reward currency at each GHA hotel and can redeem them on future stays, for your hotel room, upgrades, dining, the spa, etc. The percentage that you can redeem increases with your stay. The creditable percentage, increases with membership level, starting from 4 to 7 per cent. Status levels are Silver, Gold, Platinum and Titanium. New members immediately receive silver status and are entitled to benefits from their first stay on. You can advance by the number of nights you stay, the amount you spend on purchases or the number of hotel brands you have stayed in. Titanium is worth it for the double upgrade alone. And: once a year you can give your Titanium status to a friend or family member as a gift. The Titanium status is already available with 15,000 USD annual turnover in the GHA Discovery Hotels or if you generate 30 nights or if you stay in three different brands (NH unfortunately only counts as one brand). So you can be Titanium with just three nights and get the status for two. That is strong. And as a holder of an American Express Platinum Card, you can get Platinum status immediately. In my opinion, GHA Discovery is one of the most attractive and modern programmes for elite customers.

Status points for social projects

Flying Blue is the joint loyalty programme of Air France and KLM. It offers a variety of ways to earn and spend miles and has some interesting innovations. The easiest way is still to use it to earn miles when flying, with any airline in the Sky Team alliance of 35 flying partners.
As with Miles & More, miles are credited on Air France and KLM flights based on ticket prices. The number of miles ­earned then depends on the membership status; as an Explorer you get 4 miles per euro, as a Platinum 8 miles. For all flights offered by the other Flying Blue and Sky Team partners, the amount of miles is based on distance, booking class and the Elite Bonus.

In addition to Miles, Flying Blue offers Experience Points (XP). Silver status comes with 100 XP, Gold at 180 XP and for ­Platinum 300 XP. From Gold status on, it‘s off to the lounge.
The status is always valid for twelve months, with soft landing, in which you only drop one level if you don‘t collect XP. And those who have collected more XP than necessary take them with them into the next twelve months. That is generous.

Innovative: XPs are not only collected by flying, but also by supporting charitable organisations or sustainability initiatives. The number of partners here and in general is ­growing, also with car rentals, shopping, event tickets and hotel chains. Among the latter, the partnership with ALL Accor stands out: If you activate the Miles+Points option, you earn extra points both when you stay in an Accor hotel and when you fly. The partnership with Membership Rewards from American Express is also interesting: here you can ­convert your miles into Flying Blue miles at a ratio of 5:4, usually even in a few minutes. New is the mile pooling “Flying Blue Family“. A pool can consist of eight members: two adults and up to six members under the age of 18. The “Family Leader“ can transfer miles from the accounts of the other members to his or her own account at any time.
It is important to know that Flying Blue is a dynamic mileage programme: the number of miles you use for your ticket ­depends on the demand on the desired day of travel. It is there­fore worth booking early and being flexible.­­ The new inter­active ­Rewards Map is also practical here. Here you enter how many miles you would like to redeem and receive currently available one-way ­destinations. For me, Flying Blue is one of the innovative, attractive European loyalty programmes, and I am not alone in this opinion. The programme has already won several awards at the German Bonus Awards. ▫


Ulf-Gunnar Switalski …

… is a book author, editor of “Upgrade Guru“, founder of the
German Bonus Awards and constantly travels the world himself. He has been involved with bonus programmes for customer retention and loyalty for more than 30 years.

 

 

Fotos: © istock.com/ invincible_bulldog

Tags : News
>

Bleisure-Trends
News

Collect together

„Wer viel unterwegs ist, kann auch viele Vergünstigungen bekommen.
Die Programme agieren dabei unterschiedlich. Ich habe im Bereich Hotel das noch junge Programm GHA Discovery unter die Lupe genommen sowie im Bereich Airline Flying Blue.“ Ulf-Gunnar Switalski, Gründer von upgradeguru.de und von Deutsche Bonus Awards

Das GHA Discovery Programm – eine Kooperation von kleinen Hotelgruppen – ist seit ca. zwei Jahren verfügbar und überzeugt mich immer mehr. Es bringt einige interessante Vorteile mit sich und ist das derzeit großzügigste Loyalty-Programm beim Elite Status. Grundsätzlich sind hier fast 40 Marken von über 800 Hotels in 100 Ländern vereint, darunter auch die NH Hotels mit allein 350 Hotels in 30 Ländern, hier unter dem Namen NH Discovery.

Für mich die wichtigsten Vorteile sind zwei Aspekte: Die Discovery Dollars (D$) und der erweiterte Status-Level. Ersteres heißt, dass man keine Punkte sammelt, sondern D$ als neue, digitale Belohnungswährung in jedem GHA-Hotel verdient und diese bei künftigen Aufenthalten einlösen kann, für das Zimmer, Upgrades, Speisen, Spa etc. Der anrechenbare Prozentsatz steigt mit der Mitgliedsstufe ab 4 bis 7 %. Bei den Status-Stufen gibt es Silber, Gold, Platin und Titanium. Neue Mitglieder erhalten sofort Silber-Status und haben ab ihrem ersten Aufenthalt Anspruch auf Vorteile. Aufsteigen kann man durch die Übernachtungsanzahl, Ausgaben für Einkäufe oder durch die Zahl der Hotelmarken, in denen man übernachtet hat. Titanium lohnt sich schon allein für das Double-Upgrade. Und: Einmal im Jahr kann man seinen Titanium-Status an einen Freund oder ein Familienmitglied verschenken. Der Titanium-Status ist schon bei 15.000 USD Jahresumsatz in den GHA Discovery Hotels erhältlich oder wenn man 30 Nächte generiert oder wenn man in drei unterschiedlichen Brands übernachtet (NH zählt leider nur als eine Marke). Man kann also schon mit drei Übernachtungen Titanium sein und bekommt den Status für zwei Personen. Das ist stark. Zudem kann man als Inhaber einer American Express Platinum Card sofort den Platinum-Status erhalten. GHA Discovery ist aus meiner Sicht eines der attraktivsten und modernsten Programme für Elite-Kunden.

Statuspunkte für soziale Projekte

Flying Blue ist das gemeinsame Loyalty-Programm von Air France und KLM. Es bietet eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, Meilen zu sammeln und wieder auszugeben und hält einige interessante Innovationen parat. Am einfachsten ist es nach wie vor, damit beim Fliegen Meilen zu sammeln, mit jeder Airline der Sky Team-Allianz mit 35 Flugpartnern.
Wie bei Miles & More, werden die Meilen bei Air France und KLM-Flügen auf Basis der Ticketpreise gutgeschrieben. Die Anzahl der Meilen hängt dann vom Mitgliedsstatus ab, als Explorer bekommt man 4 Meilen pro Euro, als Platinum 8 Meilen. Für alle Flüge, die von den anderen Flying Blue- und Sky Team-Partnern angeboten werden, richtet sich der Meilenbetrag nach der Entfernung, der Buchungsklasse und dem Elite-Bonus. Neben den Meilen erhält man bei Flying Blue Experience Points (XP). Den Silber Status gibt es mit 100 XP, Gold mit 180 und für Platinum 300 XP. Ab Gold Status geht es ab in die Lounge. Der Status ist immer zwölf Monate gültig, dies mit Soft Landing, indem man bei fehlenden XPs nur eine Stufe sinkt. Und wer mehr XP als nötig gesammelt hat, nimmt sie mit in die nächsten zwölf Monate. Das ist großzügig.

Innovativ: XPs sammelt man nicht nur beim Fliegen, sondern auch, wenn man wohltätige Organisationen oder Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen unterstützt. Die Zahl der Partner hierbei und generell wächst, auch mit Autovermietungen, Shopping, Event-Tickets und Hotelketten. Bei letzteren fällt die Partnerschaft mit ALL Accor auf: Wenn man die Option Miles+Points aktiviert, sammelt man sowohl bei der Übernachtung in einem Accor Hotel als auch beim Flug extra Punkte. Auch interessant ist die Partnerschaft mit Membership Rewards von American Express: Hier kann man seine Meilen im Verhältnis 5:4 in Flying Blue Meilen umwandeln, dies meist sogar in wenigen Minuten. Neu ist das Meilen-Pooling „Flying Blue Family“. Ein Pool kann aus acht Mitgliedern bestehen: zwei volljährige Personen und bis zu sechs Mitglieder unter 18 Jahren. Der „Family Leader“ kann jederzeit Meilen von den Konten der anderen Mitglieder auf sein eigenes Konto übertragen.

Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass Flying Blue ein dynamisches Meilenprogramm ist: Die Anzahl an Meilen, die man für sein Ticket einsetzt, hängt von der Nachfrage am gewünschten Reisetag ab. Daher lohnt es sich, frühzeitig zu buchen und flexibel zu sein. Praktisch ist hier auch die neue interaktive Rewards Map. Hier gibt man ein, wie viele Meilen man einlösen möchte und erhält aktuell verfügbare One-Way-Ziele. Flying Blue gehört für mich zu den innovativen, attraktiven europäischen Loyalty-Programmen, und mit der Meinung stehe ich nicht allein da. Das Programm wurde bereits mehrfach bei den Deutschen Bonus Awards ausgezeichnet.


Ulf-Gunnar Switalski …

… ist Buchautor, Editor von „Upgrade Guru“, Gründer der
Deutschen Bonus Awards und reist selbst ständig um die Welt. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren beschäftigt er sich mit Bonusprogrammen zur Kundenbindung und Loyalty.

 

 

Fotos: © istock.com/ invincible_bulldog

Tags : News
>