Home Slider - En
Bleisure-Trends

Work@Apartment

“How does workation work?
By starting simple: domestically, ­where there are no legal hurdles, and in serviced apartments that offer space, service and reliable
work opportunities.“
Sylvie Konzack

White beach, hammock and laptop on the lap – such images have become workation clichés and still leave many a company in doubt as to whether the employee in worka­tion-mood is really working and effective. Confidence or not. Workation experiences are still often in the early stages for employees and employers. The balance between what employees want and what companies can make possible is often still to be found.


Simply starting on the doorstep and being sure that the national lido, the local mountain views or the big city on the other side of the country are also suitable for workation trips – that is the message of many companies that have already taken the first steps. Because there are no hurdles with regard to differently applicable tax, labour and social security laws in the domestic country, neither for employees nor for companies. Mobile working can thus be practised in one‘s own country with three exclamation marks.

Working casually on the windowsill, among other things: the Felix Suites in Leipzig.

The pandemic was a good school here. Ralf Krause of Adapt Apartments in Berlin remembers well how he increasingly counted employees from public authorities among his week-long guests in 2021. “The offices had to support each other with colleagues from other cities. Since there was little office space and little contact was desired, our apartments with their own living, kitchen and working areas offered them protection and space away from home – unlike hotels,“ says the host, who now counts public authorities among his regular customers in his house in Berlin-Adlershof, as well as TV production teams in the nearby studios for a long time or project engineers who have a few weeks to do in the ­neighbouring companies.

In the middle of the megatrends

The Place in Herzogenaurach offers seating and work areas throughout.

“Serviced apartments were invented for business travellers who have business elsewhere for up to six months,“ emphasises Anett Gregorius, who started Apartmentservice, the first online booking platform for serviced apartments in Germany, more than 20 years ago and since then has also advised investors, developers and operators on the realisation of the properties. “The growth in supply that we have experienced in this hotel segment since 2000 is enormous and the demand is still far from being met in view of the megatrends of flexible working, digitalisation and urbanisation – especially since serviced apartments have been proven to produce significantly less CO2 than classic hotels and, last but not least, are cheaper,“ she says. In contrast to private accommodation offered via Airbnb & Co., serviced apartments meet all the requirements in the accommodation sector, from fire safety regulations up to VAT reporting. Serviced apartments are therefore also perfect places for mobile working and workation. Almost every apartments has a desk with matching light, chair and Wi-Fi. At Revo in Munich, you can also fold away the bed in some apartments and use a table in its place for working and small meetings. Or you can go to the Revo coworking floor with bookable desks and boxes in retro style. Brands such as Ipartment, e.g. in the new building at Berlin Airport, Adina Hotels as the serviced apartments market leader in Germany with the high-rise hotspot in Munich or the Felix Suites in Leipzig with window sills and rooftop, also offer good working possibilities in the apartment. At The Place in Herzogenaurach, between the Adidas and Puma headquarters, you can also use various roof terraces and a dedicated coworking floor with creative islands and the latest meeting technology. If you stay at The Base One in Berlin for months, you automatically book a coworking space and sit together with home office workers from the neighbourhood. And the Swiss brand Stay Kooook, which is currently available in Bern and will soon be available in Leipzig and Nuremberg, has created communal areas with large kitchens, tables, sofas and, in some cases, swings and garden areas – for a distinctive working environment with a leisure programme right on the doorstep.

 

 

Sylvie Konzack …

… has been working as a hotel journalist on serviced apartments, the innovative operators and the incredible dynamics on the market for over twelve years. Serviced apartments are perfect for bleisure and even more so for workation due to their homeliness, digitality and self-­catering options.

 

 

Fotos: © Fotos: Sylvie Konzack, Revo

>

Home Slider
Bleisure-Trends

Work@Apartment

“Wie geht Workation? Indem man einfach anfängt: im Inland, wo es keine Rechtshürden gibt, und in Serviced Apartments, die Platz, Service und verlässliche Arbeitsmöglichkeiten bieten.“ Sylvie Konzack

Weisser Strand, Hängematte und Laptop auf dem Schoß – solche Bilder sind zu Workation-Klischees avanciert und lassen noch manches Unternehmen daran zweifeln, ob der Mitarbeitende im Workation-Mood wirklich arbeitet und effektiv ist. Vertrauen hin oder her. Workation-Erfah­rungen sind für Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber noch vielfach im Anfangsstadium. Die Balance zwischen dem, was sich Mitarbeitende wünschen und dem, was Unternehmen ­möglich machen können, ist häufig noch in der Findungsphase.


Einfach vor der Haustür anfangen und sich gewiss sein, dass das nationale Strandbad, die heimischen Bergaussichten oder die Großstadt am anderen Ende des Landes auch zu Workation-Trips taugen – das ist die Botschaft vieler Unternehmen, die die ersten Schritte bereits gegangen sind. Denn Hürden mit Blick auf anders geltendes Steuer-, ­Arbeits- und Sozialversicherungsrecht gibt es im Inland nicht, weder für Mitarbeitende noch für Firmen. Mobiles Arbeiten kann damit im eigenen Land vielfach mit drei Ausrufezeichen ­gelebt werden.

Arbeiten u.a. lässig auf der Fensterbank: die Felix Suiten in Leipzig.

Die Pandemie war hier eine gute Schule. Ralf Krause von den Adapt Apartments in Berlin erinnert sich noch gut, wie er 2021 vermehrt Mitarbeitende aus Behörden zu seinen wochenlangen Gästen zählte. „Die Ämter mussten sich mit Kollegen aus anderen Städten unterstützen. Da es wenig Büroplätze gab und wenig Kontakt gewünscht war, boten ihnen – im Gegensatz zu Hotels – unsere Apartments mit eigenem Wohn-, Küchen- und Arbeitsbereichen Schutz und Freiraum in der Ferne“, sagt der Gastgeber und zählt mittlerweile in seinem Haus in Berlin-Adlershof Behörden zu seinen Stammkunden, genauso seit langem TV-Produktionsteams in den nahen Studios oder Projektingenieure, die in den ­benachbarten Firmen ein paar Wochen zu tun haben.

Mitten in den Megatrends

Das The Place in Herzogenaurach bietet überall verteilt ­­Sitz- und Arbeitsbereiche

„Serviced Apartments sind für Geschäftsreisende, die bis zu sechs Monate an einem anderen Ort zu tun haben, erfunden worden“, betont Anett Gregorius, die vor über 20 Jahren mit Apartmentservice die erste Vermittlungsplattform für Serviced Apartments in Deutschland startete und seitdem Investoren, Entwickler und Betreiber auch bei der Realisierung der Häuser berät. „Das Angebotswachstum, das wir seit dem Jahr 2000 in diesem Hotelsegment erleben, ist enorm und der Bedarf mit Blick auf die Megatrends flexibles Arbeiten, Digitalisierung und Urbanisierung noch lange nicht ­gedeckt – zumal Serviced Apartments nachgewiesen deutlich weniger CO2 als klassische Hotels erzeugen und nicht zuletzt preiswerter sind“, sagt sie. Im Gegensatz zu Privatunterkünften wiederum, die über Airbnb & Co. angeboten werden, erfüllen Serviced Apartments alle Auflagen im Beherbergungsbereich, von Brandschutzbestimmungen bis zur Umsatzsteuerausweisung. Serviced Apartments sind also auch perfekt für mobiles Arbeiten und Workation. Fast jedes Apartment hat einen Schreibtisch mit passendem Licht, Stuhl und WLAN. Bei Revo in München kann man auch in manchen Apartments das Bett wegklappen und an der Stelle einen Tisch zum Arbeiten und für kleine Meetings nutzen. Oder man geht in die Coworking-Etage des Revo mit buchbaren Schreibtischen und Boxen im Retrostil. Gute Arbeitsmöglichkeiten im Apartment bieten auch Brands wie Ipartment, z. B. im neuen Haus am Berliner Airport, die Adina Hotels als Serviced-Apartment-Marktführer in Deutschland u. a. mit dem Hochhaus-Hotspot in München oder die Felix Suiten in Leipzig mit Fensterbänken und Rooftop. Im The Place in Herzogenaurach kann man zwischen den Adidas- und Puma-Zentralen auch diverse Dachterrassen und eine eigene Coworking-Etage mit Kreativinseln und neuester Meetingtechnik nutzen. Wer über Monate im The Base One in Berlin bleibt, hat automatisch einen Coworking-Platz mitgebucht und sitzt hier u.a. mit Homeoffice-Arbeitenden aus der Nachbarschaft zusammen. Und die Schweizer Marke Stay Kooook, die es bisher in Bern und demnächst auch in Leipzig und Nürnberg gibt, hat Gemeinschaftsbereiche mit großer Küche, Tischen, Sofas und zum Teil auch Schaukeln und Gartenbereichen geschaffen – für ein apartes Arbeiten mit Freizeitprogramm vor der Tür.

 


Sylvie Konzack …

… beschäftigt sich als Hotelfachjournalistin seit über zwölf Jahren mit Serviced Apartments, den innovativen Betreibern und der unglaublichen Dynamik auf dem Markt. Serviced Apartments sind durch ihre Wohnlichkeit, Digitalität und Selbstversorgungsmöglichkeit perfekt für Bleisure und noch mehr für Workation.

 

 

Fotos: © Sylvie Konzack, Revo

>